top of page
  • Foto van schrijverMadelief

Volunteer at the Melbourne Festival

Checking my e-mail to see if there where any shifts that I had to forfill for the Melbourne festival. It kept quiet.

And finally it was there: my voluntery job as a suppost at the Meat Market; the Home Within.



It was cold in the Meat Market and not so busy so we sat there and waited, chat and waited, listend to the chanting and went home.

Things I've learned:

- The artwork contains 200 kilometer of yarn

- It took 10 volunteers and the artist 10 days to complete the work

- Most of that time was spend on making smaler ball of the big balls of yarn

- You can find two ball into the art work

- The sound scape was made after the art work was finished and is based on Japanse rituals

When I saw the website I assumed it was a room full of yarn.






But it where actualy three houses. It was big so that was impressive. I found it a bit to polished; I could disapeare into the work. But after the three hours looking at it it feels a little bit more like my home.

3 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Curriculum Vitae

Education 2005-2009 Bachelor Theatre in Education, ArtEz Institute of the Arts, Arnhem Honours: How to educate high school students Performance Art, Live Art Specialization: outdoors theatre, street t

bottom of page